Address : P.O Box 1069, Wildwood, NJ 08260, United States




New CapeGOP Leadership Team Looks To The Future

Admin || June 14th, 2016

(CMCH) – Newly elected Cape May County Republican Committee members crowded into the Old County Court House on Tuesday, June 14th to choose the CapeGOP’s leadership team for the next four years. Representatives from all sixteen Cape May County municipalities were on hand as Interim County Chairman Marcus Karavan was unanimously elected to a full four term as GOP Party Leader. Karavan, a Wildwood attorney, stepped into fill the shoes of Chairman Michael Donohue in December 2015. Donohue resigned the position upon his appointment as a Judge to the Superior Court of New Jersey.

"This a pivotal year for both our county and our country. We are locked in a battle for the soul of our country. Don’t stay on the sidelines. Get involved. Make a difference." - Tim Donohugh (Second Vice Chair)

In opening remarks, GOP County Second Vice-Chair Tim Donohue spoke about the Organization’s renewed energy and unity moving into an important 2016 election cycle. “I want to recognize all the municipal Leaders, elected officials and especially our hard working County Committee members, for coming together in the last six months to assure that the CapeGOP came through this reorganization process, stronger, more united and freshly energized, as we embark on a new chapter for our organization,” Donohue said. “I encourage all our new County Committee members to join us in working to elect our excellent slate of candidates. This a pivotal year for both our county and our country. We are locked in a battle for the soul of our country. Don’t stay on the side lines. Get involved. Make a difference.”


Chairman Karavan moved quickly to present his leadership team for the approval of the County Committee Members. Susan Adellizi-Schmidt, from Upper Township was appointed First Vice-Chair. Tim Donohue, from Middle Township, remains as Second Vice-Chair. Antwan McClellan of Ocean City will serve as Treasurer. Tom Conrad from Lower Township was appointed Sergeant-at Arms. Diane Wieland and Melanie Collins, both from Middle Township, assumed the positions of Recording Secretary and Corresponding Secretary. Lauren Fogarty of Upper Township will serve as the Cape May County Young Republicans Liaison to the CapeGOP.


Chairman Karavan closed the proceeding by urging all Committee members to focus on the missions and goals of the CapeGOP.


“Let us not forget why we come together today,” Karavan said. “Our mission is to spread the Conservative message of freedom, hope, opportunity and personal responsibility enshrined in our Constitution. The best path to making these goals a reality is by working to elected good Republicans at every level of government.”




The GOP, “Grand Old Party,” first took roots in 1854 with a small group of dedicated abolitionists gathered to fight against the expansion of slavery and in hopes of starting a Party dedicated to freedom and equal opportunity.


Chairman | Marcus Karavan

1st Vice Chair | Susan Adelizzi-Schmidt

2nd Vice Chair | Timothy Donohue

Recording Secretary | Diane Weiland

Treasurer | Antwan McClellan

Corresponding Secretary | Melanie Collins

Sergeant at Arms | Thomas Conrad


P.O Box 1069, Wildwood NJ 08260, United States


© 2016 Cape GOP All rights reserved | Site Design by JASM Consulting